EIWA Final Results: Cornell Wins for the Seventh Straight Time; Columbia and Army Secure Four NCAA Qualifiers Each


Note: We will post a more detailed recap later in the weekend.

Cornell won its unprecedented seventh EIWA championship in a row on Saturday at the Rutgers Athletic Center, as all 10 wrestlers placed in the top seven of their weight classes.

A trio of champions led the way for the Big Red – Nahshon Garrett (125), Kyle Dake (165) and Steve Bosak (184).  For Dake, it was the third conference crown of his career.  He also earned Most Outstanding Wrestler honors, as well as the Fletcher and Sheridan Awards (most points scored at the EIWAs during a career and most falls in the least time).

Besides those three titlewinners, Cornell will send Mike Nevinger (third at 141), Chris Villalonga (fourth at 149), Jace Bennett (third at 197) and Stryker Lane (fourth at heavyweight) to NCAAs.

Army took sixth in the standings with 81 points.  The Black Knights picked up four NCAA qualifiers, led by 149-pound runner up Daniel Young.  Also making the trip to Des Moines will be Connor Hanafee (seventh at 141), Paul Hancock (third at 165), and Bryce Barnes (fourth at 197).

Columbia had three finalists, including champion Steve Santos at 149.  Matt Bystol and Josh Houldsworth earned silver at 133 and 165, respectively, after wrestling above their seeds.  (Bystol came in as the eighth seed, Houldsworth as the seventh).  Those wrestlers punched their tickets to NCAAs, as did 157-pounder Jake O’Hara.

For full brackets and results, see here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s